I recently finished my new novel, STORMCROW, and sent it away, after which I promptly got sick. That’s life though, ain’t it. Anyway, the resulting period of forced inactivity has left me with time to watch a few movies I’d been wanting to see, especially since every television show I watch (all three of them, lol) is/was on hiatus. Such a hateful word, hiatus.

Anyway, on to some movie news.

The Man from U.N.C.L.E. – Superman and the Lone Ranger (Henry Cavill and Armie Hammer) team up to recreate the team of Solo and Kuryakin in this big screen adaptation of the old television classic. Set in the 60’s instead of being modernized, this movie was awesome from start to finish. Cavill and Hammer own their roles and play off one another beautifully through the entire movie. There’s not a single minute of movie that’s filler, folks. Have you popcorn popped when the movie starts.

Interstellar – LONGEST MOVIE EVER ALERT – That being said, this movie is well done. The tale is heart wrenching and heart warming at the same time. It is long, to be sure, but again, there’s no wasted filler. Every bit of this movie is important, so pay attention to details. It’s well acted and the roles seem to have been cast very well.

ANT MAN – This is quite possibly the second best Marvel movie so far, behind only Guardians of the Galaxy for pure entertainment value. There’s some playing with the story line but that’s become the norm these days. I’m not a comic guru so I’m not really bothered by that, though I know that some are. Still, the movie is awesome, and the lead and supporting actors are superb. Worth seeing again and again.

Extinction – This movie is dark and dreary but tells a great story. Matthew Fox and Jeffrey Donovan play off one another very well in this movie. Not the typical Z movie, it’s more geared toward the aspect of survival and how people treat each other and deal with the aftermath. At first I didn’t think I was going to like it, but I ended up watching it twice. The ending is a bit of a surprise, but it’s not bad. This kind of movie doesn’t really have an actual ending, and it leaves a lot of questions unanswered, but as far as entertainment value it’s not bad.

Star Wars, The Force Awakens – Makes up for the Prequels. All of them. Very obviously follows the pattern for A New Hope. There are some surprises. You’ve probably heard of them by now, but just in case, I’ll not repeat them here. If you’re a fan and still haven’t seen it, you owe it to yourself to do so, and in 3D if possible. The effects alone are worth the price of admission.

I’m hoping to see Deadpool when it opens and look forward to it. Then there is the Captain America:Civil War movie, which looks good. And of course Superman v. Batman. That one has potential, but we’ll see. I don’t want to get my hopes up, and yet I do so want it to rock.

I’ll have more about Stormcrow as it get’s closer to hitting the web.

Now go watch a movie!

 

NCR

 

 

 

