Tags

, ,

I haven’t added much in the way of writings lately, as I have been so preoccupied with other things. Sorry about that. I am working on Bonespear, and I’m always working on my original stuff. Lately I’ve been working around the house. Sigh.

Okay, books I’ve read lately.

Monster Hunter Alpha = Absolutely awesome. Corriea does it again.

World War Z by Max Brooks.  This book is written as an after the fact documentary, with ‘interviews’ of people all over the world. All of the ‘stories’ link to at least one other. It’s a very well put together piece of writing. If you’re into that sort of thing at all, I highly recommend it.

Through Stone and Sea by Barb and .C. Hendee — This is the latest in a line of books called the Noble Dead Saga. A truly magnificent series of works that has Vampires, Ghouls, Wraiths, Elves, Dwarves, and a unique heroine. An epic tale, and this latest book does not disappoint at all. The first book in the series is called Dhamphir. If these genres interest you in any way, you really need to give them a look.

 

Saw the Expendables movie. It was pretty good. Honestly, better than I expected. A good one for popcorn on a night when you just wanna forget about the job, the bills, and everything else for a couple hours.

Into the second season of Sanctuary, and so far it’s still keeping me interested. Like the premise, and the ‘steampunk’ type atmosphere. And, of course, Amanda Tapping.

On to real life.

 

Read about a man in Philly who risked his life to protect two teens from a mob beating. The mob actually broke into the man’s house, and attacked him. The police arrived, and arrested three people, one of whom had a gun. Apparently yet another mob descended on the house the following day, charging that he was racists, since his attackers were black and he was white, and they had gone to jail.

Hmmm. Mob assaults house, breaks inside, and attacks owner, but the owner is the racist? Apparently one of the ‘victims’ mothers made a threat that she knew where the man lived, and he might not make it to court. Ah, the city of brotherly love. Personally, having seen Parking Wars, I blame the Parking Authority for all this pent up rage. Joking.

North Carolina Governor apparently wants to suspend the elections for ‘two years’ so that Congress can ‘concentrate’ on the problems at hand, instead of the upcoming election. You know, I don’t recall that being Constitutional. But I’ve been out of school for a while. No idea what they’re teaching people these days. Gimme a break! Suspend our elections process so Congress can WORK? I admit, Congress working is unique enough that it’s almost tempting. I mean, if Congress was actually working, we could charge admission to SEE them working. That nasty National Debt could be paid down in no time.

But let’s be real, here. There’s no damn way the people will sit by and watch this happen. Is there?

