Tags

, , ,

I’m not one to usually run around screaming the sky is falling. Personally, I don’t think the sky can fall. It looks sturdy, and, Atlas is holding up pretty good, right? Having said that, I have noticed a disturbing trend in the not so mainstream media the last two weeks or so, and even gotten hints of it in the MSM from, of all places, CNN, the absolute last name in cable news.

The ruined Fukishima Daichii nuclear plant is still cooking off fuel rods. I mean, in a big way. There’s been nothing of note in the media about it, save for one interview I saw on the web that CNN did with Michio Kaku, of NYU, probably one of the smartest people ever born. And he’s concerned. He believes that the Japanese haven’t been truthful about the amount of damage to the plant, based on their own conflicting stories. He paints a rather grim picture of what could be coming if things aren’t contained.

Which they aren’t.

What I wonder about, is why isn’t this more in the media? I mean, I can understand that some would say, ‘there’s nothing we can do about it, no point in causing a panic’. On the other damn hand, if this kaka is going to affect me and mine, I want to know about it. Sooner rather than later. There may not be anything THEY can do about it, but there may be steps I can take to minimize the danger to myself and those around me. There may NOT be, too, but I’d rather have the chance to see for myself, thank you very much.

I guess this overall rant isn’t just about the Fukishima incident, either. I mean, here we are, in a debt crisis, two and a half wars going on, some of the worst weather disasters in our history, half the southwest on fire, half the northwest under water, and the news media is telling us about a guy named Weiner who sent pics of his hot dog to someone on Twitter? Give me a break!

I don’t care who what celebrity is dating now. I don’t care who had a ‘wardrobe malfunction’ or where it was at. Nor am I interested in Michele Obama’s visit to South Africa, Spain, or wherever the hell she is this week. Don’t even care where Sarah Palin is, where her bus is going, or what she had for dinner.

Journalists were once serious professionals. Once. Seems that day has passed us by.

And we’re poorer for it.

